CABA eNews

CABA Professionalism Award Nominations Sought

At the Dinner Honoring the Judiciary that will be held on Thursday, April 14, 2016, CABA will present its nineteenth annual Professionalism Award. Nominations are currently begin sought.

The recipient must be a CABA member and will be chosen by a selection committee comprised of the following individuals or their delegates: the senior Mississippi Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the 5th Judicial Circuit, the senior United States District Court Judge from the Jackson Division, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Mississippi, the Chief Judge of the Mississippi Court of Appeals, the senior Chancery, Circuit, and County Court Judges from Hinds, Madison and Rankin Counties, and six (6) CABA members, at least two of which shall have a predominantly transactional/non-litigation practice.

Deadline for Receipt of Nominations: Monday, March 14, 2016

Nominations may be submitted by email to
or by mail to CABA, P.O. Box 14065, Jackson, MS 39216

Criteria for Award

  • Nominated member must be a practicing attorney
  • Demonstrated consistent adherence to professional standards of practice, ethics, integrity, civility, and courtesy
  • Encouraged respect for, and avoided abuse of, the law and its procedures, participants, and processes
  • Shown commitment to the practice as a learned profession, to the vigorous representation of clients, and to the attainment of the highest levels of knowledge and skill in the law and contributed significant time and resources to public service

Past Recipients

  • William Wright
  • Beth & Steve Orlansky
  • David Kaufman
  • Robert Gibbs
  • Barry Ford
  • John Henegan
  • Ben Piazza
  • Barry Powell
  • Christy Jones
  • John Corlew
  • Gee Ogletree
  • William Winter
  • Louis Watson
  • Tom Crockett
  • Alex Alston
  • George Hewes
  • William Goodman
  • Reuben Anderson
  • Harold Miller